Friday.

I apologize for being so absent these past few weeks. Things have been a little bit hectic and there never seemed to be enough time to sit down and write. But here I go again!

I was actually almost done with this post and then I decided to saved it as a draft (worst idea ever) and ย when I went back to it it was all gone, it all got deleted ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

SO I’ll try to remember what I wrote as much as I can, but unfortunately it won’t be the same… (tear)

1. Last weekend UBC hosted their annual Apple Festival. I’ve been wanting to go ever since my first year here at UBC but for some reason I never ended up going until this year. My roommate, and best friend Emily and I, took a little adventure down there and loved every minute of it! I have slowly acquired this profound love for apples, sometimes I end eating up to two apples a day or simply crave big, juicy, red apples constantly throughout the day; how could I not go to the Festival! They had everything from apples tasting, to big stands where they sold huge bags of apples, foods made with apples, and different types of food stands where they gave sample of chocolate, garlic nuts, kettle corn, caramel corn, apple caramel corn, apple cider, apple pies, apple cider, and much more! Emily and I decided to try a slice of the legit and delicious looking pizza from the pizza truck that came all the way from Whistler. Not forgetting to leave space for dessert we shared a huge piece of the homemade apple pie and some homemade cookies. Honestly, although I do love apples and all, I must say I preferred the cookies to the apple pie. The apple pie was probably amazing to all of the “apple pie fans” out there, however to me it was a bit too big, it had waay to many apples and too much cinnamon for my taste buds. (I actually prefer the Italian or European version of the apple pie. In Italian it’s called “Crostata di Mele.” It has more of a cookie crumb base which is thicker, this is actually my favorite part, and there is only one layer of apples. It’s the absolute perfect combination of bread and fruit, I think it’s delicious! And much better than the American apple pies… at least to me it is.) Our little adventure was a total success! We both enjoy festivals a lot, especially when we’re surrounded my so much yummy food (but then again who wouldn’t?!) It was also the first time I tried apple cider and snickerdoodle cookies and I ended up loving both! The apple cider couldn’t have more perfect on that cold and cloudy October morning ๐Ÿ™‚ To all of the UBCers out there, be sure not to miss the Apple Festival next year, it’s definitely worth it!

2. This past weekend was my pre-birthday weekend. Yes, last Monday I finally celebrated my 20th birthday (yayy!) I still can’t believe how fast my birthday came, suddenly I was 20 and I wasn’t half as excited anymore, it’s actually pretty depressing… can I go back to Kindergarden, playgrounds, and lunch-boxes with those tiny juices? Ohh how I wish I could…

The weekend started on Friday at lunch time when I had a little date with my best friend Priyanka. We decided to finally try out the Sprouts Community Eats that are held on Fridays. Basically you go in with your own container and come out with a whole buffet of food. They don’t give you too much but they have everything from rice and stew, to bread, salad, and fruit, and it’s all paid by donation! Pretty amazing huh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

On Saturday I attended a Workshop about the Exchange I will go on next semester to Cardiff in Wales (which I’m super excited about!) and later met up with friends for some of my favorite yummy treats = Menchies Frozen Yoghurt and homemade banana bread! (Props to Elisa to making it so delicious!)

Sunday started off with morning mass, followed by a spontaneous brunch date with Dani to the cutest little coffee/brunch shop ever! (The Brown Dog Cafe) You definitely get your money’s worth at this place and the prices are extremely reasonable! Not to mention the food is pretty darn good too. My favorite part would definitely have to be the tiny muffins they serve with your drinks, they’re free and healthy! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be back!

Right after this yummy wake-me up we all headed Downtown for some window shopping and to visit the new Topshop which had just opened a few days back. I lovee that store and I lovee their clothes, just not the price tags…

I guess I was still not too tired after all of this cause I ended up heading to the movies with another friend. We watched a movie I’ve been waiting to watch for a long time now, it was Woody Allen’s “To Rome with Love.” Maybe it’s because I’m Italian and I could understand everything they were saying, even when they spoke Italian, or maybe it’s because I love Rome, but I really enjoyed the movie! I thought Woody Allen was hilarious and I thought they caught the city of Rome on tape so well that I actually felt as if I were there.

Since this post has gotten a bit too long, I’ll post about my birth(day) next time!

Happy Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

