Croeso!

^ That is Welcome! in Welsh. (I’m proud to say I’ve learned one thing in Welsh!)

I’ve been in Cardiff for almost three weeks now, talk about time flying by! As unbelievable as that may sound I have to say it’s been quite an emotional roller coaster. Ever since I was 3 months old I’ve been used to the idea of “packing up my bags and moving,” this time however, it ended up being much harder than I thought it would be. After I finished my exams in December,Β I left Vancouver feeling ready to begin a new life in Europe in the New Year. But after spending Christmas holidays with the family in my hometown of Lecco in Italy, I didn’t feel quite as ready. Nonetheless, by the 21st of January I was on my way.

After delayed flights due to snow, cancelled flights, and a night spent in a beautiful and fancy hotel in Amsterdam, I finally arrived to Cardiff (I was actually the last international student to arrive..unfortunately) I missed some of the first orientations and meetings due to these inconveniences and I therefore like to believe I also missed the crucial opportunity of meeting other international students new to Cardiff during the first few days here. Because of this, my days in Cardiff still haven’t been everything I imagined they would be. Perhaps it’s because I still haven’t found a close group of new friends to chat to, maybe it’s because my five other flatmates aren’t very social between themselves either, or maybe it’s just because I’m not being as positive as I should be about this whole experience… All I know is that I’ve been more homesick then I thought I would be; I miss my friends, my family, and the everyday routine I was used to living back in Vancouver.

I refuse to be a pessimist, though. I will look forward to the next few months with a smile and a positive state of mind. I will cherish and make the most out of this incredible experience that I’ve been given. No snow, homesickness, or unsocial roommates will change that.

So stay tuned for more posts on my adventures around Cardiff and Europe. This time I’ll make sure I don’t disappoint you and I will keep on writing, posting, blogging… after all these are some of my favorite things to do πŸ˜‰

Cheers! (as they like to say around here)

Until next time,

xox

Astrid

Leave a Reply

