Coffee Barker <3

I was going to wait until the end of this post to give away the name of the coffee shop I’ve fallen in love with in Cardiff… but instead, I simply couldn’t wait to share it with you guys that I chose to write it as the title: Coffee Barker.

It all started one late Saturday morning (or better said, afternoon, since it was already past noon…) I was walking around the so-called “Arcades” of Cardiff when I found this gem of a place. It was exactly what I was looking for too. My goal for the day was to get some work done on my laptop, eat some yummy breakfast or lunch, and hopefully find a yummy cappuccino to go with it.

But Coffee Barker had even more to offer.

As I walked passed it, I peeked into it through the windows. Although I saw a couple of tables filled with people catching up and eating together, I was pleased to find the “back” section of the coffee shop almost exclusively made for those of us who wanted to sit at a table by themselves to catch up on some work and use our own laptops. I was happy to know I wasn’t going to be the only loner sitting inside the coffee shop by herself! So I headed inside.

The interior of the coffee shop is very laid back; made-up of low tables and extremely comfortable leather armchairs, lots of wood decorations, and vintage inspired objects (a somewhat hipster style if you ask me.) Overall I loved the way they decorated the place, not to mention their perfect choice in music which included Lana del Rey, Jason Mraz, and Joshua Radin (just a few of my favorites, and a perfect for a chilly afternoon inside catching up on some work!)

Unfortunately, since it was past noon I was unable to order anything from their main “Breakfast Menu” so I ย ended up ordering a cappuccino and a bowl of their home-made granola with yoghurt. Although I wasn’t expecting anything extraordinary, both of these options were perfect! The cappuccino is probably the best I’ve had in Cardiff, without being too milky and with the perfect amount of foam (that’s not too foamy and filled with air bubbles, but more towards the creamy side – which is the perfect way to make a cappuccino! Just like they do in Italy!)

It was my perfect type of afternoon. A comfy armchair, my laptop, and a bowl of scrumptious home-made granola that i wish they would sell for wholesale. I would have stayed there forever… and in fact I did (until closing time at least.)

Coffee Barker was definitely a success on my list. I’ve been back twice since then and I honestly can’t wait to go back one more time for breakfast or to try one of their home made baked goods.

If you’re around the “Castle Arcade” in Cardiff, be sure to check out Coffee Barker. I give it a big stamp of approval. ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy!

xo

Astrid

p.s. Here are a few pictures for you to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

