Easter Break in Paris {part three}

(This post is a continuation of Day two in Paris)

Following our ultra satisfying experience at Le Marche’ des Enfants Rouges, we decided we would walk off our food and headed towards the Centre Pompidou, the Les Halles neighborhood, Rue Beaubourg, and Rue Montorgueil. (recommended by a friend.) This area was probably one of my favorite in Paris. These small streets were full of cute bistros, brasseries, coffee shops, boutiques, vintages stores, and well-known dessert shops. Some of them included L’Atelier du Chocolatwhich had delicious-looking truffles, “chocolate sheets,” and real chocolate eggs! Another one was Stohrer, the oldest pastry shop in Paris, especially known for the best Eclair du Chocolat (… but their pastries, savory delights, and chocolate eggs with Pope Francis designed on them, looked just as amazing to us.) Further down we also found Foucher, another known chocolatier (chocolate shop), and street vendors selling gingerbread cookies and loafs, Nutella Crepes and even Nutella paninis!

Our walk ended in one of the most famous tearooms in Paris, Angelina. I had been told by a number of friends that this was a must-stop in Paris. I was told their hot chocolate is the absolute best in town, (a classic at Angelina!) and their most talked about dessert is their Mont-Blanc, a pastry with it’s own history (which you can read all about here.) I had been talking about this place for ages before even setting foot in Paris, now the moment to try it our myself finally arrived; I was beyond excited. Of course, not to my surprise, there was a line of tourists waiting outside. After about 40 minutes of waiting, plus 5 minutes of deciding what we would get, we chose the two Angelina classics (just because we were there, because those were their most famous options, and because, lets face it, we probably would never go back… sadly)

The Verdict: The Hot chocolate was exactly what I was expecting. It was thick, creamy, and oh-so delicious. This is the kind of hot-chocolate we usually have back in Italy, so to me this is what I’m used to, this is what I like to call “Real Hot Chocolate,” not the gross “Add 150 ml of water” types of hot chocolate one typically finds throughout North America. Although i found this to be a pretty damn good hot chocolate, my friend didn’t think the same. Being used to drinking the more liquid type of hot chocolate, she found this to be “just too much chocolate.” (But still worth the experience!) The Mont-Blanc on the other hand was very interesting to say the least. To be honest, it’s not something I would usually order for myself. I had no idea what to expect before trying it, I decided to simply go for it because it was their most popular dessert. The taste was very intriguing. My friend and I couldn’t put our finger as to what it tasted like, until we decided it was something like chestnuts and milk chocolate creme… (you can get a better description on their website linked above^)

After our sweet Angelina experience we finally headed back to our hotel. After a moment of feeling quite sick, my friend decided it wasn’t worth staying in while we were in Paris. We faced the cold and ended up indulging in a very French dinner: Moulles et Frites, near the Moulin Rouge!

Could I have asked for a better way to spend my day in Paris? I will have to say, probably not 😉

xo,

Astrid

Leave a Reply

