Lazy Sunday Mornings

I woke up today to a cloudy and rainy Vancouver. It’s Sunday, and all I really wanted to do was make breakfast and stay in my pjs all day long. Today is simply one of those lazy Sunday mornings when you literally don’t want to do anything (let’s just no think about the piles of school work I have to go through at some point…)

Lucky for us Vancouverites it hasn’t been too rainy this winter season, which gives us no right to whine about how “we never see the sun,” and “we must always leave the house in rain boots.” This weekend, however, we weren’t as lucky.

As I’m a lover of all things food related, I couldn’t wait to get out of bed for: breakfast! I planned everything in advance so that today I would be able to treat myself to a yummy homemade brunch at home. Since it’s cloudy and raining today it couldn’t have been a better day to stay in and enjoy the quite hours of the morning while having a bite to eat.

I’ve been inspired by all the lovely bloggers who I vicariously follow on Instagram for a while now. While I do love all their Instagram videos of Fashion Weeks and their daily outfit posts, I cherish their foodie adventures in New York, Paris, Australia, and even when they’re at home just as much! With that being said, I introduced to you the simply yet over-the-top relish dish I’ve been wanting to make for a long time: Avocado toast!

My take on the now infamous avocado toast included: Emmergluten-free bread, cherry tomatoes, one soft-boiled egg, salt and pepper, and of course, avocado. On one slice of bread I kept it simple by  pairing the avocado and the cherry tomatoes, while on the other one I chose to add the soft-boiled on top as well. The experience was beyond amazing, seriously drooling amazing. I love how something so simple and easy to make can be so flavourful and delicious, and quite enjoyable to eat. I can now say I know why everyone seems to be only eating avocado on toast. Who wouldn’t? 

{My homemade brunch for one also included: a fresh cut grapefruit, blueberries, some granola, and green tea.}

Leave a Reply

